Grimme Digital Interface

GRIMME Landmaschinenfabrik GmbH & Co. KG

With over 150 types of machines the GRIMME group offers by far the widest and most comprehensive product range in the area of potato, beet and vegetable technology. It is one of the global leaders in the area of potato technology. While developing the VENTOR, a completely new four-row self-propelled potato harvester, its user interface was to be redesigned.

UI/UX Design

Challenge

This user concept needed to be adaptable to the complete product range and flexible enough to allow product options to be build up in a modular fashion. As the vehicle controls of the existing machines had been developed over many years, they had become far too complex. So we first of all conducted an analysis and looked into which functions were the most important. For the first time the new CCI Touchscreen terminal made it possible to display high resolution graphics and view several stages of work at the same time.

  • Design of an HMI that applies to all vehicles
  • Visual design and icon development, animations
  • Style guide for future development and design of additional functions and machines

Our solution

The aim of this project was to create a unified operating sequence and good transparency shortening the training of less proficient drivers and enabling them to apply once learned skills onto any type of vehicle:

  • The soft keys which serve as navigation switches between individual functional groups are arranged according to the product flow through the machine
  • Set-up assistants facilitate configurations and lead safely through complex operation sequences. These are sensibly combined and projected through large-scale illustrations.
  • We developed a high contrast and unadorned icon style to meet the requirements of the job site with strong light reflections and large vibrations. The brand colour red was used as an accent colour.
  • The data is displayed in a larger font and is particularly easy to read.
  • Adjustment processes are clearly visualised with the use of animation.
  • Vehicle overviews & 3D illustrations provide information as to where functions are located and what they effect.

This new interface can also be used on existing Isobus terminals like the CCI 200 without losing functionality or quality. All graphics provide a high resolution in their bitmap format.

Grimme Digital Interface

GRIMME Landmaschinenfabrik GmbH & Co. KG

Mit über 150 Maschinentypen bietet die GRIMME Gruppe das mit Abstand breiteste und umfangreichste Produktprogramm im Bereich Kartoffel-, Rüben- und Gemüsetechnik an und gehört zu den Weltmarktführern auf dem Gebiet der Kartoffeltechnik. Im Zuge der Entwicklung des komplett neuen vierreihigen selbstfahrenden Kartoffelroders „VENTOR“ sollte auch dessen Bedienoberfläche neu gestaltet werden.

UI/UX Design

Herausforderungen

Das Bedienkonzept sollte universell für alle Produktgruppen einsetzbar und so flexibel sein, dass unterschiedliche Ausstattungsvarianten modular aufgebaut werden können. Da die Maschinensteuerungen der aktuellen Maschinen über Jahre gewachsen und daher sehr unübersichtlich waren, stand eine Analyse und Gewichtung von Funktionalitäten an. Durch den Einsatz des neuen CCI-Touchscreen-Terminals bestand erstmals die Möglichkeit, hochauflösende Grafiken darzustellen und mehrere Arbeitsansichten parallel anzuzeigen.

  • Konzeption eines maschinenübergreifenden Human Machine Interfaces
  • Visuelle Gestaltung und Iconentwicklung, Animationen
  • Styleguide für die Vorgehensweise und Gestaltung weiterer Funktionen

Unsere Lösung

Ziel war die Erstellung eines einheitlichen Bedienmusters mit hoher Übersichtlichkeit um bei wenig geübten Fahrern die Einarbeitung zu verkürzen und einmal Gelerntes auf alle Maschinentypen übertragen zu können.

  • Die Softkeys werden als Navigationstabs zwischen den einzelnen Funktionsgruppen benutzt und sind in der Abfolge des Produktflusses durch die Maschine angeordnet.
  • Einrichtungsassistenten erleichtern Belegungen und führen sicher durch komplexe Funktionsabläufe. Diese sind sinnvoll kombiniert ansteuerbar und werden meist über großflächige Illustrationen nachvollziehbar dargestellt.
  • Maschinenübersichten und 3D-Illustrationen schaffen einen guten Überblick darüber, wo sich welche Funktionen an der Maschine befinden und was sie bewirken.
  • Durch den Einsatz von Animationen während eines Verstellprozesses wird dieser klar visualisiert.
  • Dem Einsatzort auf dem Feld mit hohen Lichtreflexen und starker Vibration entsprechend wurde ein kontrastreicher, schlichter Iconstil entwickelt. Als Akzentfarbe dient die Hausfarbe Rot.

Das Grimme Digital Interface kann auch weiterhin auf vorhandenen ISOBUS-Terminals wie z.B. dem CCI 200 eingesetzt werden, ohne Funktionalität & Qualität einzubüßen. Alle Grafiken wurden auch als Bitmap scharf gepixelt.