Lemken Digital Interface

LEMKEN GmbH & Co. KG

The family owned company LEMKEN is an international leader in the specified field of professional plant cultivation focusing on innovative solutions.  Their product line includes efficient, varied and high quality technologies for the areas of soil cultivation, seeds and crop protection.

The functional scope of the machines has grown steadily and the resulting user elements were in the past simply added to the already existing HMIs. Hence operation was unstructured and unclear. A control logic spanning all machines was only partially available. The graphics originate partly from sources with monochrome displays in low resolution as well as coloured icons in varying styles and sizes. Our task was the design of an intuitive HMI with attractive graphics covering all types of machines.

We have worked with mangodesign in our hardware development as well as intensively in projects with HMI menu design. Both cooperation and communication have always been constructive and effective. Today, we can look at a menu design unified across our product lines, which is considered exemplary in the industry.

Marco van den Boom, Leiter Systemtechnik / Systems Engineering Manager, LEMKEN GmbH & Co. KG

UI/UX Design

The existing basic concept was revised in cooperation with the customer, scaled down, functions were newly arranged and clearly visualised, procedures optimised and unified for all types of machines. This resulted in a high recognition value. Once learned principles can be applied to all vehicles. With respect to the location in the field including high light reflexes and strong vibrations, a high-contrast and striking icon style with the brand colour blue was developed. This way the appearance blends in perfectly with the machines and terminals thus creating a perfect symbiosis.

  • Design of an HMI that applies to all vehicles
  • Visual design and icon development, animations
  • Style guide for future development and design of additional functions and machines

Lemken Digital Interface

LEMKEN GmbH & Co. KG

Das Familienunternehmen LEMKEN ist ein international führender Spezialanbieter für den professionellen Pflanzenbau mit dem Fokus auf innovative Lösungen. Das Produktprogramm umfasst leistungsstarke, vielfältige und hochwertige Technik für die Bereiche Bodenbearbeitung, Aussaat und Pflanzenschutz.

Die Funktionsumfänge der Maschinen sind ständig gewachsen. Dadurch war die Bedienung nicht mehr übersichtlich und unstrukturiert – eine maschinenübergreifende Bedienlogik war nur noch teilweise vorhanden. Die Grafik stammte z.T. aus Grafikpools von monochromen Displays in geringerer Auflösung sowie farbigen Icons in unterschiedlichen Stilen und Größen.

Wir haben mit mangodesign in unserer Elektronikentwicklung sowohl bei Hardware-Design-Projekten als auch intensiv in Projekten zu HMI-Menüdesigns zusammengearbeitet. Die Zusammenarbeit und Kommunikation war immer sehr konstruktiv und effektiv. Heute können wir auf ein über unsere Produktgruppen vereinheitlichtes Menüdesign blicken, was in der Branche als vorbildlich angesehen wird.

Marco van den Boom, Leiter Systemtechnik / Systems Engineering Manager, LEMKEN GmbH & Co. KG

UI/UX Design

Die bestehenden Grundkonzepte wurden gemeinsam mit dem Kunden überarbeitet, entschlackt, Funktionen wurden neu arrangiert und eindeutiger visualisiert, Abläufe optimiert und maschinenübergreifend vereinheitlicht, sodass einmal gelernte Prinzipien auf andere Maschinentypen übertragbar sind und ein hoher Wiedererkennungswert entstanden ist. Dem Einsatzort auf dem Feld mit hohen Lichtreflexen und starker Vibration entsprechend wurde ein kontrastreicher, plakativer Iconstil mit der Hausfarbe Blau als Akzent entwickelt. Das visuelle Erscheinungsbild integriert sich so perfekt in die ebenfalls blau lackierten Maschinen und Terminals.

  • Konzeption eines maschinenübergreifendes Human Machine Interfaces
  • Visuelle Gestaltung und Iconentwicklung, Animationen
  • Styleguide für die Vorgehensweise und Gestaltung weiterer Funktionen