LoccaMini

Locca loast&found services GmbH

The company Locca lost&found services GmbH based in Vienna develops personal tracking devices for objects, vehicles, animals and people. This trendsetting start-up company was financed with the help of thousands of supporters on the crowd funding platform “Indiegogo”.

Locca also became famous for their appearance on the German television programme ‘Die Höhle der Löwen’ (The Lion’s Den) on the TV channel VOX. This start-up company has already received many awards amongst them prices from the start-up events hy!Berlin and TechOpenAir Berlin.

Industrial Design

Locca protects precious belongings from loss or theft with the help of small tracking and communication devices in combination with a smartphone or website. With the LoccaMini and the LoccaPhone this start-up has developed two small devices that can find people, animals or objects all over the world. The whereabouts can be determined from over thousands of kilometres away via the smartphone app or on the Locca website.

A GPS locator is a powerful piece of technology. On the one hand a large battery and powerful antennas are required and on the other hand the locator cannot be small enough. The challenge in designing the Locca lay in combining these contradictions.

The varied use of the device calls for a large spectrum of accessories that enable the customer to mount the Locca. mangodesign designed a range of accessories that all follow a uniform design and keep up with the innovative technology of the tracking device. The accessories must offer equally ingenious solutions. For example, Locca is charged in a device that works completely without mechanical springs.

LoccaMini

Locca lost&found services GmbH

Die Locca lost&found services Gmbh mit Sitz in Wien entwickelt perönliche Trackingdevices für Gegenstände, Fahrzeuge, Tiere und Personen. Die Finanzierung dieses zukunftsweisenden Start-ups erfolgte auf der Crowd-Funding-Plattform „Indiegogo“, auf der tausende Backers das Projekt finanzierten. Berühmtheit erlangte Locca auch durch den Auftritt in der „Höhle der Löwen“ auf VOX.

Industriedesign

Locca schützt mittels kleiner Ortungs- und Kommunikationsgeräte in Kombination mit einer Smartphone- oder Web-App wertvolle Dinge vor Verlust und Diebstahl. Das Start-up hat mit dem LoccaMini und dem LoccaPhone zwei kleine weltweit einsetzbare Geräte entwickelt, die Menschen, Tiere oder Gegenstände wiederfinden. Der Aufenthaltsort wird auch über tausende Kilometer hinweg exakt via Smartphone-App oder auf der Locca-Webseite angeben.

Ein GPS-Locator ist ein geballtes Stück Technik. Einerseits wird eine möglichst große Batterie und leistungsfähige Antennen gewünscht, andererseits kann ein Locator gar nicht klein genug sein. Beim Design des Locca war die Herausforderung diese Gegensätze miteinander zu vereinen.

Die Vielzahl der Anwendungen bedarf einer ganzen Palette von Zubehör, die es ermöglicht, Locca zu befestigen. mangodesign gestaltete eine Palette von Accessoires, die alle der gleichen Formensprache folgen und der innovativen Technik des Trackers gerecht werden. Auch das Zubehör sollte nicht weniger innovative Lösungen bieten. So wird Locca zum Beispiel in einem Ladegerät geladen, das ganz ohne mechanische Federn auskommt.