Nokia 8148: The Matrix Phone

Nokia Corporation

From the beginning of the 1990s to the middle of the 2010s Nokia was regarded as the most renowned mobile phone producer in the world. From 1998 to 2011 the company was market leader in this field.

At MWC in Barcelona the Banana phone resurrected for the second time…

Industrial Design: Building a legend

It is such a pleasure to see that the banana phone has become a real legend by being rebooted! This tops even the great honor of the fact that Neo and his friends used it in the movie “Matrix” to save the humans. Jonathon Lister and HW design team from HMD did a wonderful job by redesigning it to a modern –again timeless– reinterpretation.

The intention of my first phone concept was to create a new visual language for the upcoming mass product “mobile phone” which makes me feel good, proud and not frightened of the new technology. At that time, the very few available mobile phones looked like remote controls or calculators – only how to dial a number was obvious. New design paradigms and an own visual language for this very new, desirable and expensive product category had yet to be invented.

Replacing all those keys with a touch screen would look much simpler, is intuitive and an easy and direct way of interaction. I added a movable part to enhance the call function since pressing a touchscreen doesn’t give good feedback. This piece was used to mechanically start and end the call and to provide a great haptic feedback. It was also protecting the interface when carrying – making a pocket call at that time cost a fortune and was embarrassing. I chose a slider because it’s elegant, stable and a one-handed operation movement. It looks great in both modes: open and closed. Flips don’t.

When opened, the phone was longer than needed. Talking to a phone in public was not common yet and privacy was quite an issue. To take advantage of the length and make it look a bit shorter I bended the shape to provide a shield directly in front of one’s mouth. By positioning the microphone down there, best speech quality was assumed and guaranteed. The curved shape made its design more distinctive and tensioned. And it looked familiar: like a phone receiver.

The touchscreen and proposed size weren’t possible at that time and it was taken to a drawer, but the concept convinced the Nokia team. My partner and I founded mangodesign and it was the starting point of a very long, exciting and successful cooperation: We developed lots of concepts and designs – among them 7650, 6800, S60, Lifeblog, 610, fonts, themes and icons.

The banana concept was pulled out of the drawer again and we checked if it works with the 2-softkey UI on which Nokia team and we worked on in the meantime: a well perceived solution to master the growing amount of phone functions on behalf of softkeys: changing text labels guided the user of what to do next. Only the relevant content was displayed at a time. Icons and nicer fonts enriched it due to the new full dot matrix display with the amazing resolution of 48×84 pixel. It still had a lot of keys, but the slider covered them and a very clean and elegant look could be achieved – lots of area for elegant styling: our original design was launched for a specific operator version and the Nokia design team cautiously redesigned the front to fit perfectly in the Nokia design range.

The back side is what everybody else sees when you are using it – therefore it should look great, too: the battery and the antenna were standing out visually to make the body look thinner and caused a very distinctive look. At that time people discussed a lot about the potential risk of the radio waves. This antenna could not be overseen and pointed away from the body and gave a reassuring feeling.

It became iconic because of it honest, natural shape, great mechanics and the way how was used: an outstanding user experience from the hardware down to the pixel. The Nokia team made an excellent job to realize this design challenge and even providing this lush sound when closing the cover. It was a phone and it looked like one. It did exactly what and how you’d expected it to do – and was a great stress killer by playing around with the slider or spinning it on the table. And when fallen down or hit under purpose with slider opened (popular demo from marketing), the cover just came off and you could slide it on again.

It is such a pleasure to see that the banana phone has become a real legend by being rebooted! This tops even the great honor of the fact that Neo and his friends used it in the movie “Matrix” to save the humans. Jonathon Lister and HW design team from HMD did a wonderful job by redesigning it to a modern –again timeless– reinterpretation.

The intention of my first phone concept was to create a new visual language for the upcoming mass product “mobile phone” which makes me feel good, proud and not frightened of the new technology. At that time, the very few available mobile phones looked like remote controls or calculators – only how to dial a number was obvious. New design paradigms and an own visual language for this very new, desirable and expensive product category had yet to be invented.

Replacing all those keys with a touch screen would look much simpler, is intuitive and an easy and direct way of interaction. I added a movable part to enhance the call function since pressing a touchscreen doesn’t give good feedback. This piece was used to mechanically start and end the call and to provide a great haptic feedback. It was also protecting the interface when carrying – making a pocket call at that time cost a fortune and was embarrassing. I chose a slider because it’s elegant, stable and a one-handed operation movement. It looks great in both modes: open and closed. Flips don’t.

When opened, the phone was longer than needed. Talking to a phone in public was not common yet and privacy was quite an issue. To take advantage of the length and make it look a bit shorter I bended the shape to provide a shield directly in front of one’s mouth. By positioning the microphone down there, best speech quality was assumed and guaranteed. The curved shape made its design more distinctive and tensioned. And it looked familiar: like a phone receiver.

The touchscreen and proposed size weren’t possible at that time and it was taken to a drawer, but the concept convinced the Nokia team. My partner and I founded mangodesign and it was the starting point of a very long, exciting and successful cooperation: We developed lots of concepts and designs – among them 7650, 6800, S60, Lifeblog, 610, fonts, themes and icons.

The banana concept was pulled out of the drawer again and we checked if it works with the 2-softkey UI on which Nokia team and we worked on in the meantime: a well perceived solution to master the growing amount of phone functions on behalf of softkeys: changing text labels guided the user of what to do next. Only the relevant content was displayed at a time. Icons and nicer fonts enriched it due to the new full dot matrix display with the amazing resolution of 48×84 pixel. It still had a lot of keys, but the slider covered them and a very clean and elegant look could be achieved – lots of area for elegant styling: our original design was launched for a specific operator version and the Nokia design team cautiously redesigned the front to fit perfectly in the Nokia design range.

The back side is what everybody else sees when you are using it – therefore it should look great, too: the battery and the antenna were standing out visually to make the body look thinner and caused a very distinctive look. At that time people discussed a lot about the potential risk of the radio waves. This antenna could not be overseen and pointed away from the body and gave a reassuring feeling.

It became iconic because of it honest, natural shape, great mechanics and the way how was used: an outstanding user experience from the hardware down to the pixel. The Nokia team made an excellent job to realize this design challenge and even providing this lush sound when closing the cover. It was a phone and it looked like one. It did exactly what and how you’d expected it to do – and was a great stress killer by playing around with the slider or spinning it on the table. And when fallen down or hit under purpose with slider opened (popular demo from marketing), the cover just came off and you could slide it on again.

Nokia 8148: Das Matrix-Phone

Nokia Corporation

Ab Anfang der 1990er bis Mitte der 2010er Jahre galt Nokia als weltweit bedeutendster Mobiltelefonhersteller, von 1998 bis 2011 war das Unternehmen Marktführer in dieser Branche.

At MWC in Barcelona the Banana phone resurrected for the second time…

Industriedesign

Es ist solch‘ ein Vergnügen, zu sehen, dass das Bananentelefon durch die Neugestaltung eine wirkliche Legende geworden ist! Das übertrifft sogar die große Ehre, dass Neo und seine Freunde es im Film „Matrix“ benutzt haben, um die Menschheit zu retten. Jonathon Lister und das HW-Designteam von HMD haben eine wunderbare Arbeit geleistet, indem sie das Mobiltelefon zu einer modernen und –wieder– zeitlosen Neuinterpretation umgestaltet haben.

Mein erstes Telefonkonzept sollte eine neue visuelle Sprache für das bevorstehende Massenprodukt „Mobiltelefon“ schaffen, die mich zum einen stolz macht und zum anderen die Angst vor der neuen Technologie nimmt. Zu dieser Zeit sahen die wenigen verfügbaren Mobiltelefone wie Fernbedienungen oder Taschenrechner aus – nur das Wählen einer Nummer war leicht und verständlich. Neue Design-Paradigmen und eine eigene Bildsprache für diese neue, begehrte und teure Produktkategorie mussten erst noch erfunden werden.

Damals war es noch nicht üblich, mit einem Telefon in der Öffentlichkeit zu sprechen. Deswegen war die Privatsphäre eine ziemlich heikle Angelegenheit. Um die Länge auszunutzen, das Mobiltelefon jedoch gleichzeitig ein bisschen kürzer aussehen zu lassen, habe ich die Form gebogen. So entstand ein Schutz direkt vor dem Mund. Durch die Positionierung des Mikrofons konnte eine hervorragende Sprachqualität garantiert werden. Die geschwungene Form machte das Design zudem markanter und spannender – und es kam mir bekannt vor: Die Form erinnerte mich an einen Telefonhörer.

Der Touchscreen und die vorgeschlagene Größe waren zu dieser Zeit nicht möglich und wurden in eine Schublade gelegt – aber das Konzept überzeugte das Nokia-Team. Mein Partner und ich gründeten Mangodesign und es war der Beginn einer sehr langen, aufregenden und erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit: Wir entwickelten viele Konzepte und Designs – darunter das 7650, 6800, S60, Lifeblog, 610, Fonts, Themes und Icons.

1994 wurde das Bananenkonzept wieder aus der Schublade geholt und wir haben überprüft, ob es mit der 2-Softkey-UI funktioniert, an der das Nokia-Team und wir in der Zwischenzeit gearbeitet hatten. Es war eine gut zu verstehende Lösung, um die wachsende Zahl von Telefonfunktionen bewältigen zu können. Das Ändern der Textbezeichnungen führte den Benutzer und zeigte ihm, was als nächstes zu tun war. So wurde nur der jeweils relevante Inhalt angezeigt und die Softkeys entstanden. Icons und nettere Schriften bereicherten es aufgrund des neuen Full-Dot-Matrix-Displays mit der erstaunlichen Auflösung von 48×84 Pixel. Das Mobiltelefon hatte zwar immer noch viele Tasten, aber der Slider verdeckte sie – so konnte ein sehr sauberes und elegantes Aussehen mit viel Platz für elegantes Styling erreicht werden. Unser ursprüngliches Design wurde für eine bestimmte Betreiberversion eingeführt und das Nokia-Designteam hat die Front vorsichtig umgestaltet um perfekt in das Nokia Design-Sortiment zu passen.

Die Rückseite wird von Allen gesehen, wenn man das Mobiltelefon benutzt – deshalb sollte auch sie gut aussehen: Der Akku und die Antenne standen optisch hervor, um den Körper schlanker erscheinen zu lassen und ein sehr markantes Aussehen zu erzeugen. Zu dieser Zeit wurde viel über das potentielle Risiko der Radiowellen diskutiert. Die Antenne konnte zwar nicht übersehen, dafür aber vom Körper weg gerichtet werden, was ein beruhigendes Gefühl gab.

Das Mobiltelefon wurde wegen seiner ehrlichen, natürlichen Form, großartigen Mechanik und der Art, wie es verwendet wurde, ikonisch – alles im allem verband das Mobiltelefon eine hervorragende Benutzererfahrung von der Hardware bis zum Pixel. Das Nokia-Team hat hervorragende Arbeit geleistet, um diese Design-Herausforderung zu realisieren und sogar diesen üppigen Sound beim Schließen des Covers zu bieten. Es war ein Telefon und es sah aus wie eins. Es tat genau das, was Sie erwartet haben und es wurde zum großen Stresskiller, wenn man mit dem Slider herumspielte oder das Mobiltelefon auf dem Tisch drehte.

Es ist solch‘ ein Vergnügen, zu sehen, dass das Bananentelefon durch die Neugestaltung eine wirkliche Legende geworden ist! Das übertrifft sogar die große Ehre, dass Neo und seine Freunde es im Film „Matrix“ benutzt haben, um die Menschheit zu retten. Jonathon Lister und das HW-Designteam von HMD haben eine wunderbare Arbeit geleistet, indem sie das Mobiltelefon zu einer modernen und –wieder– zeitlosen Neuinterpretation umgestaltet haben.

Mein erstes Telefonkonzept sollte eine neue visuelle Sprache für das bevorstehende Massenprodukt „Mobiltelefon“ schaffen, die mich zum einen stolz macht und zum anderen die Angst vor der neuen Technologie nimmt. Zu dieser Zeit sahen die wenigen verfügbaren Mobiltelefone wie Fernbedienungen oder Taschenrechner aus – nur das Wählen einer Nummer war leicht und verständlich. Neue Design-Paradigmen und eine eigene Bildsprache für diese neue, begehrte und teure Produktkategorie mussten erst noch erfunden werden.

Damals war es noch nicht üblich, mit einem Telefon in der Öffentlichkeit zu sprechen. Deswegen war die Privatsphäre eine ziemlich heikle Angelegenheit. Um die Länge auszunutzen, das Mobiltelefon jedoch gleichzeitig ein bisschen kürzer aussehen zu lassen, habe ich die Form gebogen. So entstand ein Schutz direkt vor dem Mund. Durch die Positionierung des Mikrofons konnte eine hervorragende Sprachqualität garantiert werden. Die geschwungene Form machte das Design zudem markanter und spannender – und es kam mir bekannt vor: Die Form erinnerte mich an einen Telefonhörer.

Der Touchscreen und die vorgeschlagene Größe waren zu dieser Zeit nicht möglich und wurden in eine Schublade gelegt – aber das Konzept überzeugte das Nokia-Team. Mein Partner und ich gründeten Mangodesign und es war der Beginn einer sehr langen, aufregenden und erfolgreichen Zusammenarbeit: Wir entwickelten viele Konzepte und Designs – darunter das 7650, 6800, S60, Lifeblog, 610, Fonts, Themes und Icons.

1994 wurde das Bananenkonzept wieder aus der Schublade geholt und wir haben überprüft, ob es mit der 2-Softkey-UI funktioniert, an der das Nokia-Team und wir in der Zwischenzeit gearbeitet hatten. Es war eine gut zu verstehende Lösung, um die wachsende Zahl von Telefonfunktionen bewältigen zu können. Das Ändern der Textbezeichnungen führte den Benutzer und zeigte ihm, was als nächstes zu tun war. So wurde nur der jeweils relevante Inhalt angezeigt und die Softkeys entstanden. Icons und nettere Schriften bereicherten es aufgrund des neuen Full-Dot-Matrix-Displays mit der erstaunlichen Auflösung von 48×84 Pixel. Das Mobiltelefon hatte zwar immer noch viele Tasten, aber der Slider verdeckte sie – so konnte ein sehr sauberes und elegantes Aussehen mit viel Platz für elegantes Styling erreicht werden. Unser ursprüngliches Design wurde für eine bestimmte Betreiberversion eingeführt und das Nokia-Designteam hat die Front vorsichtig umgestaltet um perfekt in das Nokia Design-Sortiment zu passen.

Die Rückseite wird von Allen gesehen, wenn man das Mobiltelefon benutzt – deshalb sollte auch sie gut aussehen: Der Akku und die Antenne standen optisch hervor, um den Körper schlanker erscheinen zu lassen und ein sehr markantes Aussehen zu erzeugen. Zu dieser Zeit wurde viel über das potentielle Risiko der Radiowellen diskutiert. Die Antenne konnte zwar nicht übersehen, dafür aber vom Körper weg gerichtet werden, was ein beruhigendes Gefühl gab.

Das Mobiltelefon wurde wegen seiner ehrlichen, natürlichen Form, großartigen Mechanik und der Art, wie es verwendet wurde, ikonisch – alles im allem verband das Mobiltelefon eine hervorragende Benutzererfahrung von der Hardware bis zum Pixel. Das Nokia-Team hat hervorragende Arbeit geleistet, um diese Design-Herausforderung zu realisieren und sogar diesen üppigen Sound beim Schließen des Covers zu bieten. Es war ein Telefon und es sah aus wie eins. Es tat genau das, was Sie erwartet haben und es wurde zum großen Stresskiller, wenn man mit dem Slider herumspielte oder das Mobiltelefon auf dem Tisch drehte.