Pure Symbols & WhatsApp Emojis

Nokia Corporation

From the beginning of the 1990s to the middle of the 2010s Nokia was regarded as the most renowned mobile phone producer in the world. From 1998 to 2011 the company was market leader in this field.

Our task here was to create a kind of symbolic alphabet that was going to be used whenever icons were called for. As a future firm integral part of the Nokia family this font needed to be convincing in its shapes and images. These were going to form the base for all future Nokia icons.

For their proprietary operating system S40 Nokia did not want to go without the messenger service WhatsApp, consequently allowing it to shine with its own brand. Hence an additional aspect of our work was to recreate the Unicode icons according to the Nokia-Pure-Principles adapting them to the Nokia product family.

Graphic Design: Pure Symbols

Challenge

The new icons were meant to convey a continuous and trustworthy connection to the brand. During this process, a visual constant was developed across the complete print and non-print product range. As the symbols were to be predominantly displayed on digital devices, there were further requirements to be taken into consideration:

  • Depiction from the front and two-dimensional
  • A simple style that can be clearly conveyed in small sizes
  • Geometrical construction that works ideally in the pixel grid
  • Clear and perfectly balanced icon family
  • Easily recognisable and universally applicable (symbols that can be understood worldwide)

Our solution

The style of the Nokia-Pure-Symbols spreads throughout the brand including technical graphics, packaging, user symbols and online services. As an in-house symbolic font it contains 500 symbols. The most important 80 symbols are available through direct keys. Windows as well as Mac-OS are supported.


Graphic Design: WhatsApp-Emojis

Challenge

  • Clear icon design: geometric forms that build upon the Pure-Icon principles
  • Development of coloured symbols with marginal colour spectrums
  • Guaranteed high recognisability and clarity on end devices with low resolution
  • All emojis within their complexity establish a well-balanced overall picture

Pure Symbols & WhatsApp Emojis

Nokia Corporation

Ab Anfang der 1990er bis Mitte der 2010er Jahre galt Nokia als weltweit bedeutendster Mobiltelefonhersteller, von 1998 bis 2011 war das Unternehmen Marktführer in dieser Branche.

Aufgabe war es, eine Symbolschrift ins Leben zu rufen, die immer dort Verwendung finden sollte, wo Ikonographie benötigt wird. Als künftig fester Bestandteil der Nokia-Familie soll sie durch einzigartige Formen und Metaphern überzeugen, welche die Basis für alle künftigen Nokia-Icons bilden.

Für das hauseigene Betriebssystem S40 von Nokia sollte nicht auf den Messengerdienst WhatsApp verzichtet werden, der hier mit eigenem Brand glänzen sollte. Daher bestand unsere Aufgabe zusätzlich darin, die Unicode-Icons nach den Nokia-Pure-Prinzipien neu zu erstellen und an die Nokia-Familie anzupassen.

Grafikdesign: Pure Symbols

Herausforderungen

Durch neue Icons sollte eine zusammenhängende und vertrauenswürdige Verbindung zur Marke vermittelt werden. Dabei wurde eine visuelle Konstante über das gesamte Print- und Nonprint-Produktsortiment hinweg entwickelt. Da die Symbole schwerpunktmäßig auf digitalen Geräten dargestellt werden, gab es weitere Anforderungen:

  • Darstellung von vorne, zweidimensional
  • Einfacher Style, auch in kleineren Größen noch klar zu kommunizieren
  • Geometrischer Aufbau, um optimal im Pixelraster arbeiten zu können
  • Reine und perfekt ausbalancierte Icon-Familie
  • Leicht erkennbar, universell einsetzbar (weltweit verstandene Symbole)

Unsere Lösung

Der Stil der Nokia-Pure-Symbols zieht sich durch alle Touchpoints der Marke hindurch, einschließlich der technischen Grafiken, Verpackungen, Anwendungssymbole und Online-Dienste. Als hauseigene Symbolschrift umfasst sie 500 Symbole. Die 80 wichtigsten Symbole sind über direkten Tastendruck zugänglich. Unterstützt werden sowohl das Windows- als auch das Mac-OS-Betriebssystem.


Grafikdesign: WhatsApp Emojis

Herausforderungen

  • Klarer Iconaufbau: geometrische Formen, die auf die Pure-Icon-Prinzipien aufbauen
  • Erstellung farbiger Symbole mit möglichst geringen Farbspektren
  • Gewährleistung der optimalen Erkennbarkeit & Klarheit auf niedrig auflösenden mobilen Endgeräten
  • Alle Emojis bilden in ihrer Komplexität ein ausgewogenes Gesamtbild